Of Sunlit Skies And Glassy Seas

Sea Anatomy

Exhibit 1: The cochlear in our ear and the spirals of a common sea shell.

 

In my recent venture into the sunlit depths, I realized that a lot of coral resemble the insides of our bodies. Looking at a giant brain coral for five minutes in the warm waters of the South China Sea, I wondered, which design came first? The brain coral or the brain of man?

Is it so that modern man will look at a brain coral and say, Hey! That’s inside my head too! And watching the swaying fingers of the sea anemone, will he rcall the villi of our small intestines?

If I were a designer and maker of myriad things, I think it would be fun to replicate the unseen and make them visible in the world too.

Sort of like an inside joke.

Exhibit 2: Anything come to mind here?

Exhibit 3: I was told it looked like something not inside of us, but of something in the cow.

Specifically, the coral reminded my cleaning lady of the animal’s reticulum. She loved the idea of it.
A coral which looked exactly like her favourite food: Tripe.

Tagged as:

Categorised in: Been Around The World, Sessions of Sweet Silent Thought

3 Responses »

  1. I love your writing, well done, Ming!

  2. Good day! Do you know if they make any plugins to safeguard against hackers?

    I’m kinda paranoid about losing everything I’ve worked
    hard on. Any suggestions?

Tell me what you think.

Real Time Web Analytics

Clicky